Skip to content

10:10

January 1, 2010

A week or so ago I read an interview with the British documentary film director Franny Armstrong, which gave me the chills and blew me away, in a shit-she’s-right kind of a way:

“I think we all grew up being told that the point of our lives was to consume loads of stuff and play video games and then die, and actually it turns out we have this responsibility, a bigger responsibility than any generation has ever had before because what we do now is going to determine whether there is a world for future generations to live on.

And I actually like that. I’m really glad that there is something important for us to do – I was quite unhappy when all I was supposed to be doing was shopping.

And other generations actually did manage to end slavery or overturn apartheid or land on the moon, and this is what our generation’s got to do. And I find that enormously exciting myself.”

In September she launched what one leading climate thinker has called “the idea we’ve been waiting twenty years for”. The plan is simple: Since the politicians have so far have failed to do what needs to be done in order to safeguard our future, it’s time for us ordinary people to step in and take responsibility ourselves, joining together as individuals and organizations to cut our emissions by 10 per cent by the end of 2010.

So needless to say, choosing a new years resolution was easy for me this year (I only do one). See you later jogging, hello 10:10.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

