Skip to content

Style hunting

March 13, 2010
tags:

Well, it’s time again for L’Oreal Melbourne Fashion Festival to kick up some dust, so I thought it appropriate to post this photo of an anonymous Aboriginal artist that I’ve had on my inspiration wall for the longest time (see?). I love her!!

Because, as the LMFF’s program aptly states, ‘personal style is the latest obsession of bloggers and fashion commentators the world over. More than ever before, individuals have the power to create and define trends.’

Dear anonymous artist in the photo, this is to you:

I really, really hope you can make it down here and meet up on Fed Square on March 17 to celebrate your individual style – you see, everyone is invited to ‘come along in a look that expresses your originality and creativity for a chance to be style-hunted by our celebrity hunters.’

How about that?! Isn’t that an offer you can’t refuse?

Hope to see you there,

Love Anna

Fashion is allright, but I have to admit I find un-fashion (to borrow Tibor and Maira Kalman’s term) a lot more interesting. And when it comes to personal style, sometimes it’s the people the furthest away from blogs and style hunters that pull it off best.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 8:10 am

    Haha! Åh, alla små fashionistas som komemr att springa runt i konstiga kläder och hoppas att nån ska ta kort på dem. Enjoy!

  2. Emily permalink
    March 16, 2010 2:38 pm

    I was really interested to notice, when i was in arnhem land, that people’s clothes choices (which are limited) were often defined by totemic attachments. As an example, I was given a gift of a really bogan-style skirt with awful blue flames and chinese dragons on it and told that it was a good skirt for me to wear because of the ‘fire’: my family on my adopted father’s side is Yirritja, and they have responsibility for painting fire designs and doing fire rituals. So a dress that you or I might choose (or reject) for its flowers, its colours, or perhaps the birds printed on it, will be ‘read’ by Yolngu as significant to their cultural identity, and chosen on that basis instead. I was once in darwin with a couple of yolngu kids who saw a cool troupie 4WD with pictures of animals all over it. The girl’s argument went, “that’s a dhuwa (my family’s) car, it’s got a wallaby on it!” “No, it’s a yirritja (MY family’s) car, it’s got an eagle on it!” and so on. Obviously it didn’t ‘belong’ in the whitefella sense to either of their families, but in arnhem land, a representation of nature is never just a pretty picture: it has meaning, and someone is responsible for its care and wellbeing. It made me wonder why your beloved anonymous lady chose her clothes: colour, yes, style, yes, limited choice, perhaps… but what other stories is she wearing on her skin that we haven’t heard?
    Still loving your blog! xxx

    • March 16, 2010 5:50 pm

      Wow! That makes me blush with my own ignorance, Emily. I guess we always think about fashion/apparel talking about who we are, but in certain ways – not that multi-layered. Your stories inspire in me a joy too, remembering that there are people so rich in culture. And it kind of highlights how superficial our own culture is in many respects. Pretty sad, isn’t it? For us.

Leave a Reply

