Skip to content

What’s cookin’, good-lookin’?

April 9, 2010

Well.

I may have strong opinions, but I’m pretty good at reviewing them [changing my mind] if I need to. Went for a small excursion down to Victoria Street this morning, and just as I had had enough of phô and kitchen supply stores I stumbled upon a fair trade shop which  I entered and was rewarded with Instant Love, courtesy of their range of kitchen aprons, dangling from the ceiling. Fabricated from Kitenge, which is an East African piece of cloth often decorated with a huge variety of colors, patterns and political slogans  they were just beautiful. These particular aprons were made at the Euphrasia Women’s Centre in Nairobi, Kenya, which was founded in response to the needs of young teenage women living in the 7 slum areas surrounding it, basically saving them from prostitution by giving them skills and opportunities.

They were good aprons too, with a double pocket on the front, but I restrained myself and only bought four (which in no way reflects how much or how well I cook, but I like to look good doing it).

If you want to go snatch some up yourself, get down to The Trading Circle, 261 Victoria Street (just next to the train line), or head to thetradingcircle.com where, unfortunately, you don’t get to choose your pattern.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rui permalink
    April 16, 2010 5:04 am

    They are so beautiful!

  2. April 16, 2010 1:08 pm

    yes! you see why i got a crush on them! almost too good to cook in :)

Leave a Reply

